Some Inspiration – For You, Me, and Everyone

I bring to you the compilation of my #SundayThoughts posts of 2023 …

I am active on social media mostly offering guidance and thoughts on marketing and cannabis. In the beginning of the year, I wanted to get a bit of topic and offer some inspiration. Inspiration for you, me, and everyone. Inspiration to yield better quality of life for all of us – professionally and personally. The posts were directed at you and me. Complete transparency – sometimes when I found myself in challenging times I reflect and think about what I need to do; how I need to change my perspective and carry on in a more positive mindset. I would write the post to me and re-read several times to let it sink in. So, some of the posts were aimed at the public and some were aimed at me. This is what I mean by “for you, me, and everyone.”

I am proud of the collection of these posts that were published on Sunday, so we all had some positivity to start the week. I offer for you a compilation of my #SundayThoughts posts …

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“The art of conversation is the art of hearing as well as of being heard.”
― William Hazlitt, Selected Essays, 1778-1830

This week, I posted something that created quite a vociferous debate. The greatest problem was that most wanted to get their point across and there was little listening. So, in respect to the quote above, I failed.

Maybe I was wrong in my approach – I stated something provocative to incite debate. And it did accomplish that. But my real goal was to motivate a conversation that would lead to a solution – a solution that brings compromise from both sides.

So I reflect and learn. When we try to spawn positive change, the delivery is equally as important and the substance we present.

PS – the post referenced can be found here – https://lnkd.in/eS_iZkMQ

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

When you encounter challenges and setbacks, how do you endure?

As many, I have had my share. I have reacted, or not acted at all, in many different manners throughout different periods in my life.

I can tell you with completely certainty, the best way to deal with YOUR own challenges and setbacks is to HELP SOMEONE ELSE. Nothing makes you feel better and gets YOU back on track.

It seems counterintuitive, but nothing changes your mental state better and faster.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“With gratitude, optimism is sustainable.” ~ Michael J. Fox

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Success comes from dreams, belief, passion, and hard work.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

If you need help, just ask.
Why do so many of us find this to be so difficult?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“I think things come into our lives to help us get from one place to a better one.” ~ Ted Lasso
So to you, my friends on LinkedIn, thank you as I continue to [always] evolve and grow.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Last year I posted this same wording, and I am sharing it again, because NOTHING could be more important to me …
The best title I have ever held is “Dad.” Happy Father’s Day to all who hold the same honor.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“Learning is not a one-time event or a periodic luxury. Great leaders in great companies recognize that the ability to constantly learn, innovate, and improve is vital to their success.” ~ Amy Edmondson

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Power vs Leadership

So many headlines these days should make one reflect on the differences of power and leadership. Far too often, power is a facade for leadership.

Amplify leaders and leadership.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Support.
Often, giving your time is more impactful than giving money.
Lend a hand.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Challenges in life either make you stronger or weaker …
and YOU get to decide which.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

No matter what your professional level or number of years of experience is, consider the following approaches to yield strong business results and value to your organization (not to mention professional growth):

1. Have a positive attitude
2. Take criticism well
3. Practice self-motivation
4. Learn from your mistakes
5. Develop strong communication skills
6. Don’t be afraid to ask questions
7. Be adaptable
8. Be an effective teammate
9. Pay attention to detail
10. Be solution-oriented
11. Demonstrate a willingness to learn
12. Display honesty and integrity
13. Practice active-listening
14. Demonstrate leadership abilities
15. Develop organizational skills
16. Practice critical thinking
17. Perform regular self-evaluations
18. Be creative
19. Show kindness and empathy
20. Be reliable

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Why would anyone treat an employee any differently than they would want their own son or daughter to be treated by an employer?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Sometimes, it takes just one more try.
Why would you want to cheat yourself of the possibility?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Who Are You?

“… authenticity identifies a person living life in accordance with their true Self and personal values, rather than according to the external demands of society, such as social conventions, kinship, and duty.”

So is being inauthentic more disappointing to self or those that you touch?

The word “authentic” seems like it is over used – especially in marketing, branding, networking, and social media. We look for authenticity in people we engage with, brands we support, people we follow on social media. But maybe be authentic to self is most important.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Some people win at the game by bringing the best out of people.
Some people (try to) win at the game by bringing the worst out of people.
Who do you want to work/play with?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“Who looks outside, dreams; who looks inside, awakes.”~ Carl Gustav Jung

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Challenges in your life either make you stronger or weaker …
and you decide which.

{Yes, I posted this again … it cannot be said enough.}

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

One of the greatest feelings is to make it to the other side of challenging times.
But the outcome is often not what you initially wished for, expected, or not even what you could envision.
And yet, it will still feels most rewarding.
Keep driving forward.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Since the early days of COVID, I have been on a mission to turn more into the person I want to be. By my definition. By attributes that are important to me. This started as a realization that times were changing, and it was time for my deeper evolution.

This past week has been a time of personal assessment and reflection. My journey is far from complete. It has been both difficult and rewarding to have complete honest discussions with myself.

I don’t mean to impose my point of view of you. I share these thoughts with you only suggesting that similar self-evolution might be beneficial and most rewarding to you.

Are you the person you want to be?
What needs to change to be that person?
How do you need to start to evolve to be the person you want to be?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Supporting Someone Stressed

This past week I had a conversation with someone that was very stressed.

When this happens to someone you genuinely care for/about, most of us just want to take away their angst. It most cases, that is impossible. So, what do you say or do?

I think you call it exactly like you see it without sugar coating anything while remaining extremely supportive.

Here is what I said after they shared with me what was stressing them out …

“That makes sense. Anybody would be stressed. Take it, embrace it. Get stronger, grow, and be you – that is great.”

Be there for someone else.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Personal and Professional Growth

Growth – the act or process, or a manner of growing; development; gradual increase.

It takes determination and strength to grow.

Determination – firmness of purpose; resoluteness.

Strength – the capacity of an object or substance to withstand great force or pressure.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

We need to learn from our past but not be set in our ways.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Ponder this …
What do you want to be known for?
How are you going to accomplish that?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Are you successful?
Have you made a positive change in anyone’s life?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Last week my #sundaythoughts post simply stated …

Are you successful?
Have you made a positive change in anyone’s life?

This week, Adam Grant provides a bit more on “highly successful practices of successful people.”

1. They seek discomfort.
2. They set a mistake budget.
3. They ask for advice, not feedback.
4. They figure out which sources to trust.
5. They strive for excellence, not perfection.
6. They are their own last judge.
7. They turn the daily grind into a source of daily joy.
8. When they’re stuck, they back up to move forward.
9. They teach what they want to learn.
10. They open doors for people who are underrated and overlooked.
11. They engage in mental time travel.

How do you score?

(Referenced article – https://www.cnbc.com/2023/11/03/highly-successful-people-practice-these-11-little-life-changes-every-day-says-psychology-expert.html)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“In any given moment, we have two options: to step forward into growth or to step back into safety.” – Abraham Maslow

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Life is about continuous learning.
Are you still learning?
Are you still living a life?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“It’s coexistence or no existence.”
Bertrand Russell

So true on multiple levels – not just the obvious. Find applicability in your life.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

YOU don’t need to be perfect.
YOU just need to be the best version of YOU.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Leave a comment

Filed under inspiration, Uncategorized

Leave a comment