How You Can Soar

soaring

For the past couple of months I have struggled. I often get this way from the greyness brought on by the months of January and February. Lack of Vitamin D naturally produced by the body from the sun.

This seasonal effect has been punctuated by true disdain for the political environment in the US at the moment. Can you really build a strong brand that Americans favorably respond to without any substance?

My biorhythms have also been unbalanced due a tragic event in my community that had no direct bearing on me, but has profoundly shaken me.

Yes. As humans we get down. Even the spirited “life coaches,” motivators, and spiritual leaders have their periods of lows.

But I have found there are three attributes that pick us up and provide positive substance and in our life.

1. Gratitude – far too many people have the perception that when they are happy, they will be grateful. In actuality, it is really the opposite. In order to be happy you need to start by being grateful for what you have. If my sister could find gratitude as she was dying of cancer, so can you. Independent of your situation. We all have strong challenges in our life. We must force ourselves to focus on the beauty and not the negatives in our life and find gratitude.

2. Hope – there can be no positive evolution in one’s life without hope. While I am not a religious person, I do find that hope is definitely a spiritual element. Hope is not something physical that you can hold in your hand. Crazy as it seems, it is something you rely on. But at the same time, hope is not something that you can just wait to enter your life. You have to have both gratitude and desire in your life to allow hope to be present in your consciousness.

3. Passion – I had a weird dream last night that inspired this article. (Please understand that I often have bizarre scenarios in my dreams as you read.) In the dream, I was a director at a performance arts camp or something of that nature. In the dream, I had the power to kind of float and fly through the grounds. Picture an angel with wings if you will. At one point, things were not progressing as well as I had hoped. My ability to float about was being jeopardized. I was just hovering. Then, I sang out with complete conviction and passion and I soared. I mean I literally soared with swoops and glides as I sung with total, total passion. I put everything into singing – all my heart; all my soul. And as a result I soared throughout the grounds at great heights. This dream is in fact a metaphor for reality. If you want to soar, you must have unadulterated passion in what you do.

Deep down, I think we all want to soar. It takes hard work to soar whether our objective is capturing happiness, and/or personal or professional success. We need to evolve and transfix our mentality, perspective and point-of-view. It starts with gratitude. Work on that first. Once you can honestly say you have gratitude in your life, then work on hope. Hope gets to be very personal. Whether it is religious, spiritual, or simply a sense and strong belief in something you cannot actually control, you need to let hope be a strong manifest within your life. Lastly, once you have gratitude and hope, go after your objectives with an unrelentless passion.

I shared with you that this article was inspired by a dream I had last night. In reality, very few people get to capture their dreams. Some do. But I can unequivocally state this – If you chase your dreams with passion, you might not follow the exact path you set out to achieve. But if you have gratitude, hope, and passion chasing your dreams, you serendipitously will be taken on a path of happiness and success.

Make It Happen,
Social Steve

PS – If you are looking for a great novella about chasing your dreams and path, I highly recommend reading “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho.

3 Comments

Filed under leadership, Social Steve, SocialSteve

3 responses to “How You Can Soar

  1. samjsanderson

    This is a great and uplifting post thank you for the insight🙂 I actually recently read the alchemist as well and did a post on my blog about it! It might have been my favorite book I have ever read and really got me motivated!

  2. Steve:
    Given the high level of World Turbulence instead of hope I think about perspective given day to day mainly in business, but in life too, I encounter more bad behavior and more negative variables I cannot control. That is why I sit back and look at things in perspective, especially the vision I have established for my business.

Leave a Reply

