Two Very Different Ways to Use Social Media Successful

I manage two brands. I focus on building awareness and advocacy for both of them via social marketing. But my strategy and execution is very different for both of the brands as shown below. These descriptions are provided with complete transparency. I hope they provide you with strong insights that help you drive brand success via social media marketing.

point counter point

Consider the two brands I manage – “Social Steve” and “DivorceForce.”

Before you even start with any marketing endeavor, you must clearly define the objectives you look to achieve. There are definite differences in the objectives I look to accomplish for “Social Steve” and “DivorceForce.” Let’s look at each brand’s objectives and then how these objectives drive different social media marketing approaches and executions.

Social Steve –

I blog and tweet under the moniker of “Social Steve.” I do so for two reasons: 1) I am passionate about sharing what I have learned about marketing, brand marketing, digital marketing, and social media marketing throughout my career; and 2) I look to reinforce my marketing leadership, knowledge, and value in order to sustain a strong career by appealing to potential employers and clients. I want to continue to be known as a true marketing leader – no hidden agenda.

In order to achieve the Social Steve objectives, I generally execute in three manners. 1) I produce a regular blog article on The Social Steve Blog; 2) I tweet regularly looking to provide valuable information to my followers; and 3) I participate on LinkedIn in regularly. Here are some notable things I do not do and the reasons why:

• I no longer work to increase followers. My information is there for those that value it. If you follow me, great. If not, so be it. I am not concerned with a numbers game.
• My blog contains my content only without ads (except ones wordpress might insert) or guest bloggers. I have had offers from people to guest blog on my site, but I have no interest in guest bloggers on my site. It is my site to share my knowledge and perspective. (I do allow reblogging of my articles.) I have had offers by advertisers. I am not interested. I do not want any influence of paid media.

DivorceForce –

The objective of DivorceForce is to build a community of people that are contemplating, navigating, or have been through a divorce. We look for people to help one another, to share expertise by a wide breath of subject matter experts, and allow people affected by divorce to gain the support and inspiration they deserve. DivorceForce is a community as opposed to a pure information resource. Yes, we provide valuable content, but we are not the sole experts on divorce. We value diverse inputs and perspectives by other contributors and members of the community.

Driven by the objectives stated above, I work to drive relationships between DivorceForce and two groups of people: 1) people affected by divorce; and 2) subject matter experts in various topics related to divorce (legal, finance, therapy, relationships, etc.). This means that I actively look for people mentioning their divorce. I look to engage with them, help them, and suggest that they checkout http://www.divorceforce.com. I also use many tools to search for valuable content for the divorce community. I highlight others that offer great information for the divorce community. I mention them and their articles in tweets. I connect and look to build relationships such that the subject matter experts contribute content to DivorceForce and share DivorceForce with their audience. With DivorceForce, I look to engage on all channels where my audience participates – Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest. I go where my audience is.

There are two distinct differences in the Social Steve brand and the DivorceForce brand. The Social Steve Brand is a brand that looks to create authority on a particular topic. DivorceForce is a brand that works to bring together many points of view on divorce. Social Steve looks to be the voice of expertise while DivorceForce looks to attract experts to be part of the community. The social marketing strategies and tactics vary between the two brands.

Of course, there are more specifics to the strategies and tactics of Social Steve and DivorceForce brands. Hopefully the two disparate approaches I have described (driven by brand objectives) provide you direction on how to use social media to work for your brand. Understand what you want to achieve and how you want your audience to perceive your brand. Make sure your social media marketing reinforces your brand presence.

Make It Happen,
Social Steve

3 Comments

Filed under brand marketing, brands, marketing, social marketing, social media, social media marketing, Social Steve, socialmedia, SocialSteve

3 responses to “Two Very Different Ways to Use Social Media Successful

  1. Good Day to You Steve,

    You seem to do a lot of good works between “Social Steve” and “DivorceForce”.

    I appreciate being able to read your articles on Social Steve, without any sales pitches.

    Your ability to define how you market each brand is interesting.

    There does seem to be one common denominator in relation to both objectives:

    Your desire to provide value without being “greedy”.

    The only monetization you mention is “WordPress Ads”.

    Your “Consulting” page doesn’t even mention a fee schedule.

    This impresses me, because I’m not at the point of establishing fees, nor are there any established services listed on my blog. There is a lot building to do before a solid list of products or services, let alone establishing a fee schedule can happen.

    I keep encouraging my visitors to contact me with questions or suggestions regarding ways to provide valuable services, including offering to provide a requested product or service that can be repurposed to generate income at no fee. They can even suggest a fee that seems reasonable to them.

    I like what you said about “no longer working to increase followers”. I believe that if we provide enough quality, our visitors will want to return and become our “advocates”, not just followers.

    You explain this well in your “Three Social Marketing Fundamentals” article.

    Perhaps, learning through your example, and following my own plan of action, by presenting value first will pay off over time.

    Thank you for you wonderful example.

    My Best to You
    Arth

  2. I am very interested in this information. Social media is a very effective way to communicate and listen to the opinions of customers. Because it allows customers to advise and criticize. If you want this kind of information, please visit thetalentcollectiveagency.com

Leave a Reply

