The Corporate Culture Trait That is Perfect for Social Marketing Success

I was interested in pursuing a professional position that I thought was an excellent match for me. The position was leading the service group for a social media platform company. Coincidentally, at the same time, the company’s VP of Marketing was engaging with me on Twitter based on an article I was quoted in. I thought it was a good opportunity to ask if he knew anything about the position and whom it reported into. He said he did not, but then followed up with a tweet that really resonated with me. He simply tweeted …

How can I help?

how-can-i-help

Now isn’t that the mentality you want from all companies, all brands you patronize.

I was a bit surprised. I thought about how it would feel if I was a potential consumer or client of a business. Should brands have a social media presence that says “Here, I want to help you”? I had a most favorable image of this company leader by his simple tweet. Now what if I had the same perception of an entire brand? That they were there to help me.

I do believe that social media presence of brands needs to feel more like you are hearing from a person rather than hearing from a company. People feel more comfortable listening to and talking to people than a company.

As you think about your brand’s participation in social media to drive measured results in awareness, consideration, loyalty, and advocacy, always think from the perspective “How can I help.” Your audience does not want blatant selling and product push from companies in social media. If your audience is to gain respect, value and trust from your brand on social media, they will get it in the form of entertaining and helpful information.

When you execute brand social marketing, help individuals and the mass audience. You help individuals by listening and responding to their needs and wants. You help a mass audience by having deep empathy for them and delivering content that is valuable to them. Make them feel like you are a media company addressing their interests rather than a company pushing and selling.

When I talk about the perfect trait of corporate culture for social marketing, the “how can I help” attitude should be a characteristic that exudes internally in addition to external social activity. Social media managers need help from their internal organization to be successful. Company leaders need to be a proactive resource for social managers. The various company subject matter experts need to feed the social managers compelling and valuable information that appeals to the brand’s audience. The social manager needs to respond to the audience quickly and thus individuals within the company must help and support the social manager. Look at the social manager as the front line of audience development and engagement. But at the same time the social manager requires the full support of an entire corporate cast.

So I ask you … do you think your company can really win over it’s audience in social marketing? Does your company have a “how can I help” mentality through and through? Internally and externally?

Make It Happen,
Social Steve

2 Comments

Filed under corporate culture, leadership, social marketing, social media, social media marketing, Social Steve, socialmedia, SocialSteve

2 responses to “The Corporate Culture Trait That is Perfect for Social Marketing Success

  1. Jim Matorin

    You make a good point Steve. Two thoughts: 1.) Companies need to empower people and train them to have a how can I help mentality. 2.) It takes a social person to have a how can I help mentality. Unfortunately too many people are self absorbed in their silos, so when you combine my two thoughts, it is very rare to find an organization or at least it has been for me that has a how can I help mentality. Still searching.

  2. Reblogged this on EJ WEB PRESS and commented:
    4 Words for B2B Social Media Success #socialmedia #content #marketing #b2b #socialmediasuccess #new #latest

Leave a Reply

